List of Sahitya Akademi Award winners for English (1960-2016)

The Sahitya Akademi Award is given each year, since 1955, by the Sahitya Akademi (India's National Academy of Letters), to writers and their works, for their outstanding contribution to the upliftment of Indian literature in each of the official languages of India.

Here is the Complete list of winners for English–
Year Writer Book
2016 Jerry Pinto Em and The Big Hoom (Novel)
2015 Cyrus Mistry Chronicle of a Corpse Bearer (Novel)
2014 Adil Jussawalla Trying to Say Goodbye (Poetry)
2013 Temsula Ao Laburnum For My Head (Short stories)
2012 Jeet Thayil These Errors are Correct (Poetry)
2011 Ramachandra Guha India after Gandhi (Historical Narrative)
2010 Esther David The Book of Rachel (Novel)
2009 Chaturvedi Badrinath Mahabharata: An Inquiry into the Human Condition (Criticism)
2007 Malathi Rao Disorderly Women (Novel)
2006 Rupa Bajwa The Sari Shop (Novel)
2005 Arundhati Roy The Algebra of Infinite Justice (Essays)
2004 Upamanyu Chatterjee The Mammaries of the Welfare State (Novel)
2003 Meenakshi Mukherjee The Perishable Empire (Essays)
2002 Amit Chaudhuri A New World (Novel)
2001 Rajmohan Gandhi Rajaji: A Life (Biography)
2000 Kiran Nagarkar Cuckold (Novel)
1999 A. K. Ramanujan The Collected Poems (Poetry)
1998 Mahesh Dattani Final Solutions and Other Plays (Drama)
1996 Sunetra Gupta Memories of Rain (Novel)
1994 Dom Moraes Serendip (Poetry)
1993 G. N. Devy After Amnesia (Essays)
1992 Ruskin Bond Our Trees Still Grow In Dehra (Short Stories)
1991 I. Allan Sealy The Trotter-Nama (Novel)
1990 Shashi Deshpande That Long Silence (Novel)
1989 Amitav Ghosh The Shadow Lines (Novel)
1988 Vikram Seth The Golden Gate (Novel)
1987 Shiv K. Kumar Trapfalls In the Sky (Poetry)
1986 Nayantara Sahgal Rich Like Us (Novel)
1985 Kamala Das Collected Poems (Poetry)
1984 Keki N. Daruwalla The Keeper of the Dead (Poetry)
1983 Nissim Ezekiel Latter-Day Psalms (Poetry)
1982 Arun Joshi The Last Labyrinth (Novel)
1981 Jayanta Mahapatra Relationship (Poetry)
1980 K. R. Srinivasa Iyengar On the Mother (Biography)
1979 Rama Mehta Inside the Haveli (Novel)
1978 Anita Desai Fire on the Mountain (Novel)
1977 Chaman Nahal Azadi (Novel)
1976 Sarvepalli Gopal Jawaharlal Nehru (Biography)
1975 Nirad C. Chaudhuri Scholar Extraordinary (Biography)
1971 Mulk Raj Anand Morning Face (Novel)
1969 Niharranjan Ray An Artist in Life (Biography)
1967 Bhabani Bhattacharya Shadow From Ladakh (Novel)
1965 Verrier Elwin The Tribal World of Verrier Elwin (Autobiography)
1964 Raja Rao The Serpent and the Rope (Novel)
1960 R. K. Narayan The Guide (Novel)

Comments & Contact Form


Email *

Message *