Modern History Questions and Answers

Modern History Questions and Answers
1. The Cabinet Mission to India was headed by–
(A) Stafford Cripps (B) A.V. Alexander
(C) Lord Pethick-Lawrence (D) Hugh Gaitskell
Correct :

2. The founder of the weekly newspaper ‘AI-Hilal’ was–
(A) Abul Kalam Azad (B) Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan
(C) Mohammad Ali Jinnah (D) Rafi Ahmad Kidwai
Correct :

3. Mahatma Gandhi was first referred to as the Father of the Nation by–
(A) Vallabhbhai Patel(B) C. Rajagopalachari
(C) Jawaharlal Nehru (D) Subhas Chandra Bose
Correct :

4. The first political organisation established in India in 1838 was known as–
(A) Bengal British India Society (B) Settlers' Association
(C) Zamindari Association (D) British India Society
Correct :

5. The Indian National Army, organised by Subhas Chandra Bose, surrendered to the British after the collapse of–
(A) Germany (B) Italy
(C) Japan (D) After the cessation of Second World War
Correct :

6. In the Second World War, which of the following Axis Powers surrendered first of all?
(A) Germany (B) Italy
(C) Japan (D) Germany and Italy, simultaneously
Correct :

7. In which of the following constitutional documents did the British Government, for the first time, officially lay down as the goal of constitutional development in India not only Dominion Status but also Responsible Government?
(A) Indian Councils Act, 1892 (B) Indian Councils Act, 1909
(C) Government of India Act, 1919 (D) Government of India Act, 1935
Correct :

8. Who was the founder of the Servants of India Society ?
(A) G. K. Gokhale (B) N. M. Joshi
(C) Hriday Nath Kunzru (D) Srinivasa Sastri
Correct :

9. When was the famous Gandhi-Irwin Pact signed ?
(A) 1931 (B) 1932
(C) 1933 (D) 1934
Correct :

10. The famous Lucknow Pact between the Congress and the Muslim League was concluded in–
(A) 1912 (B) 1914
(C) 1916 (D) 1918
Correct :

11. The progressive development of the principles of self-government in the administration of the city of Calcutta was suddenly checked by–
(A) Curzon (B) Dufferin
(C) Minto (D) Ripon
Correct :

12. When did the Swadeshi Movement take place in Bengal to give fillip to the cotton industry in India ?
(A) 1900 (B) 1905
(C) 1910 (D) 1915
Correct :

13. The popular Congress Ministries in the provinces resigned in October-November 1939–
(A) Because the proposal of the Congress to form a Provincial National Government at the Centre was not accepted by the British Government
(B) As a protest against the promulgation of Defence of India Rules curbing civil liberties
(C) As the Congress took exception to the fact that India was dragged into the war without her consent
(D) All of these
Correct :

14. The All-India Trade Union Congress came into being in 1920 as the foremost representative of the labour movement in India. Who was the founder ?
(A) V. V. Giri (B) N. M. Joshi
(C) H. N. Kunzru (D) Shriram Bajpai
Correct :

15. For quicker contact between India and England, when did the British establish a direct telegraph line between the two countries?
(A) 1860 (B) 1865
(C) 1870 (D) 1875
Correct :

16. When, for the first time during the British Rule, was the whole Army of India placed under the single control of the Commander-in-Chief ?
(A) 1858 (B) 1861
(C) 1895 (D) 1905
Correct :

17. When did the British Parliament pass the India Independence Bill ?
(A) February 20, 1947(B) March 24, 1947
(C) July 1, 1947 (D) August 14, 1947
Correct :

18. Who was the Chairman of the two Commissions appointed by the British Government for partition of the Provinces of Bengal and Punjab in 1947 ?
(A) Sir Stafford Cripps (B) Sir Cyril Radcliffe
(C) Lord Mountbatten (D) None of these
Correct :

19. Which of the following reform movements in the 19th century took their inspiration from India's past and derived their basic principles from her ancient scriptures ?
(A) Arya Samaj and Ramakrishna Mission (B) Brahmo Samaj and Ramakrishna Mission
(C) Arya Samaj and Prarthana Samaj (D) Brahmo Samaj and Prarthana Samaj
Correct :

20. “Go back to the Vedas” was the motto of–
(A) Raja Rammohun Roy (B) Swami Dayanand Saraswati
(C) Ramakrishna Paramhansa (D) Swami Vivekananda
Correct :

Comments & Contact Form


Email *

Message *