National Sports Awards 2019: Complete List of Winners PDF

National Sports Awards 2019

President Ram Nath Kovind conferred the annual National Sports Awards to sportspersons and coaches in different sports in recognition of their outstanding achievements, on August 29, 2019 on the occasion of national sports day to mark the birth anniversary of Indian hockey wizard (late) Major Dhyan Chand. Asian and Commonwealth Games gold medallist wrestler Bajrang Punia and Paralympic silver medallist athlete Deepa Malik was honoured with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna for 2019, the most prestigious sports honour of India. Deepa received the award from honourable President Kovind at the Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi while Punia skipped the ceremony due to his sports commitment in Russia.

Deepa became the first female para athlete of India to get the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and the second para athlete after Devendra Jhajharia who got the top Indian sports honour in 2017.
19 sportspersons from different sports were honoured with the Arjuna awards this year. Total six coaches were decorated with the Dronacharya award in two categories-Regular and Lifetime. Mohinder Singh Dhillon, Vimal Kumar and Sandeep Gupta got the honour in Regular category while Marzban Patel, Rambir Singh Khokhar and Sanjay Bhardwaj got the Dronacharya honour in Lifetime category. Unlike in the past, the Union Sports Ministry had formed a single committee for evaluating and deciding on all the sports honours-both performance and coaching. The 12-member award committee was headed by former supreme court judge Justice Mukundakam Sharma. Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardee received a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees received statuettes, certificates and a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each. A trophy and citation is given to the entity in the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2019.


(A) Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

• Sh. Bajrang Punia-Wrestling
• Ms. Deepa Malik-Para Athletics

(B) Oronacharya Award
Regular Category
• Sh. Virnal Kumar-Badminton
• Sh. Sandeep Gupta-Table Tennis
• Sh. Mohinder Singh Dhillon-Athletics
Lifetime Category
• Sh. Marzban Patel-Hockey
• Sh. Rambir Singh Khokhar-Kabaddi
• Sh. Sanjay Bhardwaj-Cricket

(C) Arjuna Award
• Sh. Tajinderpal Singh Toor-Athletics
• Mohammed Anas Yahiya-Athletics
• Sh. S. Bhaskaran-Body Building
• Ms. Sonia Lather-Boxing
• Sh. Ravindra Jadeja-Cricket
• Sh. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam-Hockey
• Sh. Ajay Thakur-Kabaddi
• Sh. Gaurav Singh Gill-Motor Sports
• Sh. Pramod Bhagat-Para Sports (Badminton)
• Ms. Anjum Moudgil-Shooting
• Sh. Harmeet Rajul Desai-Table Tennis
• Ms. Pooja Dhanda-Wrestling
• Sh. Fouaad Mirza-Equestrian

• Sh. Gurpreet Singh Sandhu-Football
• Ms. Poonam Yadav-Cricket
• Ms. Swapna Barman-Athletics
• Sh. Sundar Singh Gurjar-Para Sports (Athletics)
• Sh. Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth-Badminton
• Sh. Simran Singh Shergill-Polo

(D) Dhyanchand Award
• Sh. Manuel Fredricks-Hockey
• Sh. Arup Basak-Table Tennis
• Sh. Manoj Kumar-Wrestling
• Sh. Nitten Kirrtane-Tennis
• Sh. C. Lalremsanga-Archery

(E) Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar
• Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent-(i) Gagan Narang Sports Promotion Foundation, (ii) Go Sports Foundation
• Sports for Development (D) Rayalaseema DevelopmentTrust

(F) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy, 2019 : Punjab University, Chandigarh.

Post a Comment