Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners List (1992-2019)

Rajeev Gandhi Khel Ratna Award (RGKR) – The objective of the award is to recognize the spectacular and most outstanding performances in the field of sports by a sportsperson in a year.

The sportsperson shall be honoured with Rajeev Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for Excellence in sports and games at International level i.e., Olympic/Asia/Commonwealth/World Games/Championship/World Cup or any equivalent recognized international tournament.
The award will be made in respect of the calendar year for. There will be only one award every year to be given to an individual sportsperson. This condition will be relaxed only in exceptional circumstances viz., winning an Olympic Medal.

The award will be only for the individual players, who had excelled in performance and not for team events or a team. No award will be made for a second time to the same person. The award may be given posthumously.

Rajeev Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Facts
Description – It is the highest sporting honour of the Republic of India.
Awarded by – Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India
Cash Award – A medal a scroll of honour and a substantial cash amount of 7.5 lakh.
First Awardee – Vishwanathan Anand (1991-92)
Last Awardee – Virat Kohli (Cricket) and Saikhom Mirabai Chanu (Weightlifter) 2018
Year Recipient(s) Discipline(s)
1991–1992 Viswanathan Anand Chess
1992–1993 Geet Sethi Billiards
1993–1994 Homi Motivala Yachting (Team event)
1993–1994 Garg Pushpendra Kumar Yachting (Team event)
1994–1995 Karnam Malleswari Weightlifting
1995–1996 Nameirakpam Kunjarani Weightlifting
1996–1997 Leander Paes Tennis
1997–1998 Sachin Tendulkar Cricket
1998–1999 Jyotirmoyee Sikdar Athletics
1999–2000 Dhanraj Pillay Hockey (Men)
2000–2001 Pullela Gopichand Badminton
2001 Abhinav Bindra Shooting
2002 K. M. Beenamol Athletics
2002 Anjali Bhagwat Shooting
2003 Anju Bobby George Athletics
2004 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Shooting
2005 Pankaj Advani Billiards and Snooker
2006 Manavjit Singh Sandhu Shooting
2007 Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket
2008 No awar
2009 Mary Kom Boxing (Women)
2009 Vijender Singh Boxing
2009 Sushil Kumar Wrestling
2010 Saina Nehwal Badminton
2011 Gagan Narang Shooting
2012 Vijay Kumar Shooting
2012 Yogeshwar Dutt Wrestling
2013 Ronjan Sodhi Shooting
2014 No award
2015 Sania Mirza Tennis
2016 P. V. Sindhu Badminton
2016 Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
2016 Jitu Rai Shooting
2016 Sakshi Malik Wrestling
2017 Devendra Jhajharia Paralympic athletics
2017 Sardara Singh Hockey (Men)
2018 Saikhom Mirabai Chanu Weightlifting
2018 Virat Kohli Cricket