25 Children win National Bravery Awards

Twenty five children from different parts of the country have been selected for Indian Council for Child Welfare’s (ICCW) National Bravery Awards to be presented by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on January 23.

Four are posthumous winners.

Two schoolgirls from West Bengal's Darjeeling district, Shivani Gond, 17, and Tejasweeta Pradhan, 18, are being awarded for helping the local police bust a cross-border (India-Nepal) human trafficking racket, according to media reports..

The girls acted as decoys to enable the police catch the traffickers red-handed, the media reported.

According to media reports, four children from Kerala have also won the bravery awards. They are K.P. Badarunnisa from Pattambi, Binil Manjali from Athani, Ernakulam, Adityan M.P. Pillai from Ranni, and Akhil K. Shibu from Pathanamthitta.

Tarh Peeju (posthumously) of Arunachal Pradesh, Roluahpuii (posthumously) of Mizoram, Thanghilmang Lunkim of Nagaland, H Lalhriatpuii (posthumously) of Mizoram, Tankeswar Pegu of Assam, Moirangtham Sadananda Singh of Manipur are winners of National Bravery Awards from the north-eastern part of the country, reported NorthEast Today.

The National Bravery Award scheme, initiated by the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW), aims to award children in the age group of 6-18 years, who display outstanding bravery and inspire other children with their actions.

There are five categories -- the Bharat Award, Sanjay Chopra Award, Geeta Chopra Award, Bapu Gaidhani Award and the General National Bravery Awards.

The winners will be conferred the award on January 24. They will also participate in the Republic Day Parade on January 26.

Comments & Contact Form


Email *

Message *