UGC NET History Previous Year Question Paper 2012 Fully Solved

UGC–NET/JRF Examination, 2012
History (Paper-III) Solved Paper
(Held in June 2012)

51. The Governor General who visited Allahabad to review the working of Mahalwari Land Revenue System was–
(A) Lord William Bentinck (B) Lord Auckland
(C) Lord Dalhousie (D) Lord Canning
Ans : (A)

52. The land revenue demand under the Ryotwari in Madras was finally fixed to fifty per cent of the rental and the settlement was made for thirty years in the year–
(A) 1820  (B) 1855
(C) 1864  (D) 1878
Ans : (C)

53. Policy of tariff holiday was practised by the British during–
(A) 1858 to 1870 (B) 1870 to 1880
(C) 1882 to 1894 (D) 1898 to 1905
Ans : (A)

54. The worrisome aspect of the drain of wealth in the late nineteenth century according to Dadabhai Naoroji was–
(A) transfer of India's accumulated gold
(B) unrequited exports
(C) depletion of urban wealth
(D) British investments in India
Ans : (D)

55. The Scheme of Local Finance was introduced by–
(A) Lord Canning (B) Lord Mayo
(C) Lord Lytton (D) Lord Ripon
Ans : (D)

56. First factory legislation was passed to improve the working conditions of the labour in–
(A) 1880  (B) 1881
(C) 1884  (D) 1893
Ans : (B)

57. Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer from the codes given below–
(a) B. P. Wadia (b) Sri Narayana Guru 
(c) S. N. Haldar (d) Kunvarji Mehta
1. Trade Union Leader
2. Peasant Leader
3. Jamshedpur Labour Leader
4. South Indian Lower Caste Leader
 (a)  (b)  (c)  (d)
(A)  2  4  1  3
(B)  4  3  2  1
(C)  1  4  3  2
(D)  3  2  4  1 
Ans : (C)

58. Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer from the codes given below–
(a) Bihar Provincial Kisan Sabha
(b ) Ryat's Association in Guntur
(c) Pratapgarh and Rae Bareli Peasant Leader
(d) Rajasthan Peasant Leader
1. Vijay Singh Pathik 2. Sahajanand Saraswati
3. N. G. Ranga 4. Baba Ram Chandra
 (a)  (b)  (c)  (d)
(A)  2  3  4  1
(B)  4  2  3  1
(C)  3  2  4  1
(D)  1  4  2  3
Ans : (C)

59. Which Gandhian movement has been called a 'Spontaneous Revolution' ?
(A) Champaran movement (B) Non-cooperation movement
(C) Civil Disobedience movement (D) Quit India movement
Ans : (D)

60. The inspirational leader behind the founding of the All India Women's Conference was–
(A) Durga Bai Deshmukh (B) Margaret Cousins
(C) Madam Cama (D) Matthulaxmi Reddy
Ans : (A)

61. Name the First Indian selected to Indian Civil Service–
(A) Surendranath Banerjee (B) Anandamohan Bose
(C) Gurudas Banerjee (D) Satyendra NathTagore
Ans : (D)
62. The Arya Samaj movement believed in–
(A) Idolatory (B) Polytheism
(C) Pantheism (D) Vedic ritualism
Ans : (D)

63. Which foreign journalist reported about the British brutality perpetrated against peaceful Satyagrahis at Dharasana Salt Depot during the Civil Disobedience Movement ?
(A) Wels Miller (B) C. F. Andrews
(C) Palmer (D) Fischer
Ans : (A)

64. Who was the first President of All India Depressed Class Assodation ?
(A) B. R. Ambedkar (B) Shahu Maharaj
(C) E. V. Ramaswamy Naicker (D) M. C. Rajah
Ans : (D)

65. The resignation by the Congress led ministries on 1st November, 1939 was celebrated by the Muslim League as–
(A) Fulfilment Day (B) Emancipation Day
(C) Deliverance Day (D) Freedom Day
Ans : (D)

66. The First President of the All India Congress Socialist Party was–
(A) Achyut Patwardhan (B) Ram Manohar Lohia
(C) Jay Prakash Narayan (D) Sampumanand
Ans : (C)

67. Which Commission was entrusted the task of demarcating the line of India and Pakistan in 1947 ?
(A) Wavell (B) Redcliffe
(C) Alexander (D) Marshall
Ans : (B)

68. The First Indian Princely State which signed the Instrument of Accession to join the Indian Union was–
(A) Jaipur  (B) Patiala
(C) Bikaner  (D) Bhopal
Ans : (A)

69. Match List–I with List–II and select the correct answer from the codes given below–
(a) Christian Historiography
(b) Enlightenment Historiography
(c) Romantic Historiography
(d) Positivist Historiography
1. The exposition of the Idea of Progress.
2. Attractive and Colourful Reconstruction of the Past.
3. Derivation of Historical Knowledge by applying Scientific Method of Inquiry.
4. Theorization of the Idea of Providentialism.
 (a)  (b)  (c)  (d)
(A)  2  3  4  1
(B)  1  3  2  4
(C)  2  4  3  1
(D)  4  1  2  3
Ans : (D)

70. Who among the following historians is well known for his contributions to subaltern studies ?
(A) Sumit Sarkar (B) Bipin Chandra
(C) Ranjit Guha (D) K. N. Panicker
Ans : (C)

Directions–(Q. 71 to 75) Read the following passage and answer the following five questions.

The most vicious system of racial oppression was set up in South Africa. The system of racial segregation, called apartheid, was enforced in the country by the Government of the White minority led by Daniel Malan, who came to power in 1948, and by the successive Governments. The non-Whites, over 80 per cent of the population, were denied the right to vote, strikes were banned, Africans were deported from some specified areas, education was segregated, mixed marriages were declared illegal (and immoral) and all dissent was banned under what was called the Suppression of Communism Act. Some of the greatest works of world literature, and not just political writings, were banned under the Suppression of Communism Act. Strict restrictions were imposed on the movement of Africans and they were required to carry a pass permitting them to do so. South Africa left the Commonwealth when the policy of apartheid came under attack at the conference of the Prime Ministers of Commonwealth countries.

71. Anti apartheid movement in South Africa was led by–
(A) African Peoples Party
(B) African National Congress
(C) Peoples Unity Front
(D) National Congress of Africa
Ans : (B)

72. 'The Freedom Charter' was adopted by the Congress of the People in the year–
(A) 1948  (B) 1954
(C) 1955  (D) 1990
Ans : (A)

73. What was not the aim of the 'Suppression of Communism Act' passed by the Racist regime of South Africa ?
(A) To curb all dissent
(B) To placate the capitalist countries to support apartheid regime of South Africa
(C) To segregate the 'Black' and the 'White' population
(D) To put social restrictions on the 'Black' population
Ans : (A)

74. First ever democratic elections in South Africa were won by Nelson Mandela in the year–
(A) 1989  (B) 1991
(C) 1994  (D) 1996
Ans : (C)

75. The Government headed by Nelson Mandela was known as–
(A) Government of the African People
(B) Government of National Unity
(C) Government of the Black People
(D) Government of Free People
Ans : (A)

Comments & Contact Form


Email *

Message *