Modern History of India - Quiz Questions and Answers

Modern History of India Questions

1. Gandhiji started Satyagraha in 1919 to protest against the–
(A) Salt Law (B) Rowlatt Act
(C) Act of 1909 (D) Jallianwala Bagh Massacre
Correct :

2. Universities in the Presidency towns in India were established in–
(A) 1857 (B) 1858
(C) 1900 (D) 1909
Correct :

3. The most effective measure against injustice adopted by Gandhiji was–
(A) Hijrat (B) Picketing
(C) Stoppage of work (D) Fasting
Correct :

4. The Ilbert Bill Controversy during Lord Lytton's period was related to the concepts of–
(A) Judicial equality (B) Political representation
(C) Economic justice (D) Revenue allocation
Correct :

5. How many new Governors' Provinces were created under the Government of India Act of 1935 ?
(A) One (B) Two
(C) Three (D) Four
Correct :

6. The Bandung Conference of Asian African Nations, which drew up ten principles for peaceful co-existence, was held in–
(A) 1954 (B) 1955
(C) 1959 (D) 1962
Correct :

7. The Prarthana Samaj came into existence as a lasting movement in 1867 under the enthusiastic guidance of–
(A) Devendranath Tagore (B) M. G. Ranade
(C) Keshab Chandra Sen (D) Ishwar Chander Vidyasagar
Correct :

8. All of the following were active leaders of the Brahmo Samaj or Sadharan Brahmo Samaj, after Raja Rammohun Roy, except–
(A) Devendranath Tagore (B) Keshab Chandra Sen
(C) Akshay Kumar Datta (D) Swami Vivekananda
Correct :

9. Which of the following canals for irrigation was the first to be completed during the British Rule ?
(A) Agra Canal (B) Lower Chenab Canal
(C) Lower Ganges' Canal (D) Sirhind Canal
Correct :

10. Which of the following Acts of the British Parliament conceded, for the first time, to members of the Legislative Councils in India the right of discussing the Budget?
(A) Indian Councils Act, 1862 (B) Indian Councils Act, 1870
(C) Indian Councils Act, 1892 (D) Indian Councils Act, 1909
Correct :

11. When was the Muslim League formed?
(A) 1906 (B) 1909
(C) 1916 (D) 1920
Correct :

12. Who, amongst the following Governors-General, was the first to adopt the device of separate electorates to win over the Muslims and set them against the Congress ?
(A) Lord Curzon (B) Lord Dufferin
(C) Lord Hardinge (D) Lord Minto
Correct :

13. During the British Rule in India, when was a separate province consisting of Bihar and Orissa created ?
(A) 1905 (B) 1911
(C) 1912 (D) 1915
Correct :

14. Who founded the Muhammadan Anglo-Oriental College, which was the forerunner of the Aligarh Muslim University ?
(A) Sir Syed Ahmad Khan (B) Sir Muhammad Iqbal
(C) Prof. S. Khudabaksh (D) Syed Antic Ali
Correct :

15. Under the Government of India Act, 1935, each of the following Provincial Legislatures consisted of two chambers, except in the case of–
(A) Assam (B) Bihar
(C) Madras (D) Punjab
Correct :

16. The shifting of the capital of the Government of India during the British Rule from Calcutta to Delhi was announced by King George V at the Delhi Durbar held in–
(A) 1910 (B) 1911
(C) 1912 (D) 1915
Correct :

17. Before the Partition of Bengal effected during the Viceroyalty of Lord Curzon, this province, known as Presidency of Bengal for purposes of civil administration, consisted of–
(A) Whole of Bengal only (B) Bengal, Bihar and Orissa
(C) Bengal and Orissa(D) Bengal and Bihar
Correct :

18. When was the William Hunter Committee appointed to review the progress of education in India ?
(A) 1880 (B) 1881
(C) 1901 (D) 1883
Correct :

19. Who amongst the following was impeached in England for acts committed as Governor-General of India?
(A) Wellesley (B) Cavendish Bentinck
(C) Cornwallis (D) Warren Hastings
Correct :

20. Which of the following statements is not correct ?
(A) The Revolt of 1857 started from Meerut
(B) The Quit India Movement started in August 1942
(C) The first partition of Bengal was made when Lord Curzon was Governor-General of India
(D) The control of the Indian Government was assumed by the British Crown in 1858
Correct :

Comments & Contact Form


Email *

Message *